Monday, 13 March 2017

Ohakim And 21 Others To Be Prosecuted By EFCC

Twenty-two former governors in Nigeria are currently battling to save their heads from the clip of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) over alleged embezzlement of funds.
EFCC to commence prosecution of 22 former governors
The south-south zonal head of the EFCC, Ishaq Salihu, recently said that the anti-graft agency would commence a new probe of the former governors.

Some of these former governors include Jolly Nyame of Taraba who allegedly laundered N1.64 billion, Orji Uzor Kalu of Abia who allegedly laundered N3.2 billion, Rasheed Ladoja of Oyo who allegedly laundered N$.7 billion, Otunba Christopher Alao-Akala who allegedly laundered N11.5 billion and Chimaroke Nnamani of Anambra state who allegedly laundered N5 billion.
EFCC to commence prosecution of 22 former governors
Others include Aliyu Akwe Doma of Nasarawa who allegedly laundered N8 billion, Danjuma Goje of Gombe state, a current senator who allegedly laundered N25 billion, Ibrahim Saminu Turaki of Adamawa state who allegedly laundered N36 billion, Joshua Dariye of Plateau state who allegedly laundered N1.16 billion and Abdullahi Adamu of Nasarawa who allegedly laundered N15 billion.
Infographics produced by the Transparency International shows that the former governors were accused of the alleged crime at different times of in their administration.
EFCC to commence prosecution of 22 former governors
Salihu had earlier said: “The searchlight of the EFCC is not only on former governors; its (searchlight) is also on other Nigerians who think they can take funds belonging to the country and put them in their private pockets.
“The EFCC, under Mr. Ibrahim Magu’s leadership, will never succumb to any pressure. Like we have always said, there will be no sacred cow.”

No comments:

Post a Comment